DAY TWELVE – MONEY THERAPY: THE FILTHY RICH WAY


"It is the biggest private yacht in existence and comes with a missile-detection system, two helipads, a luxury spa, swimming pool and a miniature submarine."

Roman Abramovich's 525 ft. 'Eclipse' ... "It is the biggest private yacht in existence and comes with a missile-detection system, two helipads, a luxury spa, swimming pool and a miniature submarine."

The subject of money is a complex one.  Don’t you agree that there is nothing quite like the subject of money, that evokes strong feelings and reactions in people? Except perhaps, sex and religion?  That is because, as Abraham-Hicks says;

“…it touches most of you in one way or another, hundreds or even thousands of times in every day, it is a large factor in your vibrational make up and in your personal point of attraction… Because such a high percentage of your thoughts in any given day reside around the topic of money and financial success, as soon as you are able to deliberately guide your thoughts, not only it is certain that your financial success must improve, but the evidence of that success will then prepare you for deliberate improvement in every aspect of your life experience…”

It may be hard for someone who struggles to pay the bills every month, to sympathize with someone at the opposite end of the spectrum who has his own painful issues with money.

But it is true; money is an emotional button, a contentious issue.  But I am not here to debate the pros and cons of dosh.  I just want to tell a different story about money, because the one that I have been telling hasn’t worked for me.

“…abundance cannot find us unless we offer a vibration of abundance… even in the absence of something we want, we must find a way of feeling the essence of it, or it cannot come… when you ask for the manifestation prior to the vibration, you ask the impossible.  When you are willing to offer the vibration before the manifestation, all things are possible…”

I have found a great tool to help me feel comfortable about money.  It is a book called The Official Filthy Rich Handbook by Christopher Tennant.

Before doing the filthy rich handbook therapy, I used to raise my eyebrows at the filthy rich excesses.

“One could end world hunger with what they spend on a birthday party,” I used to say.

Not anymore!  Two weeks of sitting on the toilet first thing in the morning with a latte macchiato in one hand, and the filthy rich handbook in the other, has worked like a charm.   I’ve had a change of heart.  I’ve come to see that the many ways these people can come up with, to spend their money, is brilliant.  No, I really mean it.  You want to try sitting there every day, as I do, with a checkbook in your hands panicking that you can’t think of a single thing to buy.  Seriously!  You see, in Ask and It Is Given, Abraham suggests the following exercise to help us pinpoint our energy: write yourself a check every day and spend it on the same day.  Starting with $1,000 on the first day, $2,000 on the second and so on.  It is also suggested that one should be as descriptive as possible on the memo.  I have to tell you, I am stumped.  When I finally figure out what to spend the money on, I sigh with relief.  Then I worry about thinking of something to buy the following day.

Pathetic, pathetic, PATHETIC!  Now do you see why I think the filthy rich are geniuses when it comes to spending money? Did you know that one of them bought a plot on the moon, for God’s sake!?

“How big is 525 feet,” I asked my son after reading that Roman Abramovich’s Yacht, Eclipse, is 525 feet long. “Is it as big as the QE2?”

“No, the QE2 is bigger,” he said.

“Well then, what’s all the fuss? It can’t be that big.”

“Yes but,” he explained.  ” A 525 ft yacht is big enough to block out the sun, and The QE2 carried thousands of people.”

I see the point, and it increases my admiration for the-larger-than-life-sense of self these people have!  Truth be told, they deserve some sort of public recognition.

Take Russian oligarch Roman Abramovich again, he paid $282 million for a house in London.  Do you know something? I’m rethinking my position about being on a Real Estate sabbatical.  In fact, if the likes of Abramovich, Rupert Murdoch, Bruce Kovner, Larry Ellison, Paul Allen and Bill Gates want to buy a house, I’ll be happy to make an exception for anyone of them, anytime.  Just fly, sail, drive on over in one of your custom built cars, and I’ll postpone writing a chapter until after I sell you a house.  I’ll even include you in one of the chapters.  Oh, please don’t be upset if you didn’t see your name on the list.  Anyone on Forbes 400 is welcome.

Feel better?  Good.

Now, jokes apart (who’s joking? Not me), money is a great thing. And I want to say a big thank you to Patty Stonesifer and the Bill and Melinda Gate’s foundation for their generous grant to help save babies from Sudden Infant Death Syndrome.  Also to Jeffrey Lewis, Chief of Staff to Teresa Heinz and President and Chief Operating Officer for the Heinz Family Philanthropies for his support of First Candle national Kicks Count! campaign.  None would be possible without money.

And last but not least, thank you to my elder son who brought the Filthy Rich Handbook home, and left it lying around in the bathroom.

See you tomorrow

Your friend,

Success

6 thoughts on “DAY TWELVE – MONEY THERAPY: THE FILTHY RICH WAY

  1. It’s interesting how a book that is supposed to help you look at money and wealth in a more positive light would use the term “filthy rich.”
    Where does the filthy part come in? I’d love to know the origin of that phrase:)

  2. I think I’ve seen that yacht in person, and have a picture of me in front of it! Great post about money. It is soooo hard to think abundance when there’s soooo little in your bank account. I definitely need to change my way of thinking about money and will be sure to read the Official Filthy Rich Handbook. Thanks for recommending it! Happy manifesting!

    • Hello there, nice to hear from you again. Where did you see Abramovich’s yacht? Let me know how you get on please. Take care

      • If it’s the same yacht, it was in St. Petersburg, FL. I was attending Marine Quest one year and my mom told me it was the largest yacht in the world, so I had her take a picture of me in front of it. We were not allowed on the yacht itself, though.

Leave a Reply

