DAY FIFTEEN – HOW TO MAKE THE WORLD A BETTER PLACE IN 24 HOURS

 

Our World

Our World

In the last few years I have become concerned about the environment.  Learning from John Robbins’ Diet For A New America and Food Revolution, how commercially raised animals are treated, that agribusiness is responsible for pollution, water depletion, global warming and that through their heavy use of antibiotics they are also responsible for the creation of super bugs such as MRSA, has been chilling.  Genetically modified organisms, animals injected with human genes that are then introduced into the food chain, seeds with terminator genes; it’s like watching a horror movie.  I had been spending a great deal of time worrying about the whole thing, talking about it and doing what I could to lessen my own impact on the environment.  I still do what I can to reduce my carbon footprint; as a matter of fact I have just come back inside from hanging the laundry outside.  I always turn the light off when it is not needed, and I dream that when I own a house again, it’ll be green.

 

My dilemma here is as follows; the Universe is governed by the Law of Attraction, and when we give our attention to something the Law of Attraction brings us more of the same.  So, by worrying about the environment, by fighting global warming, by being sick in the stomach with agribusiness and their lack of values; what have we achieved?  And for that matter, what has the war against terrorism achieved?  Nothing!

It is becoming apparent that making wars, any kind of war only makes things worse.

Eckhart Tolle makes the same point in A NEW EARTH.

I suppose that as with everything else, we should focus on what we want. Do what feels right to us, such as not wasting water for instance, and then focus on the solution, not the problem.

I was watching television a week or two ago.  John McCain was asked about the war in Afghanistan, and he gave his opinion that the problems in Afghanistan would get a lot worse and that a lot more troops were needed. I was struck by the realization that it is precisely by thinking and speaking like that that we make no progress.

I think that starting with all the news channels, Congress and the White House, we should spend one day (to start with) speaking only of what is good in the world.  We should look for things to appreciate and write lists of all the positive things that we can think of, and whoever writes the longest list wins a pound of organic vegetables from the White House gardens.  Want to bet that the world would be a better place within twenty-four hours?

Come on let’s give it a try, let’s petition Oprah to help us with this.  Oprah, we need your help.  Let’s see how long it takes her to answer the call.

Oops, I just realized that I should ask Michelle Obama about the vegetables, shouldn’t I?

See you tomorrow

Your friend,

Success

6 thoughts on “DAY FIFTEEN – HOW TO MAKE THE WORLD A BETTER PLACE IN 24 HOURS

  1. Sounds good to me, I don’t buy newspapers or watch the the news and people think this makes me uneducated in the world around me. In fact it makes me happier, my family and I are always laughing and people often remark how I manage to stay cheerful all the time. I don’t listen to the media, only bad news sells so the worse they can make a story the better for their profits. Don’t fall for it live your own lives not other peoples, as long as your actions are to the benefit of all and you respect and treat the world and others with care and love you can’t go wrong.
    Change the way you see things and the things you see will change

    • Hi Kimberly, thank you for taking the time to comment, I appreciate it. I hope you’ll read tomorrow’s piece tomorrow. Take care and keep laughing 🙂

  2. Check out this Abraham-hicks clip about trusting the broader perspective of mother earth and the larger abundance of well being that has been set in place on the earth.

    W.

Leave a Reply

