Andrew by his father

Andrew, very much a combination of what my darling wife, Esmeralda and I bring to the world – and more of course – also had a strong sense of duty. Incredibly, at the age of six, as we were burying my son Alexander in England, he stood to attention throughout the ceremony and as they lowered Alexander’s body into the ground, he raised his hand in full salute to his dear friend. While still in England, we noticed he had a slow motor-hand coordination challenge. He took it on board and became a master of electronic games. He became a devoted player of Warhammer, involving painstaking painting skills with miniature models which were then used in a battle game involving seventeen dice, a 1 1/2 inch thick rulebook and tape measure as he moved pieces around the board. He was a keen chess player. Having devoured a book of professional cooking, he become an adept cook.

He enjoyed the usual school sports of soccer and tennis. He turned his eye to fencing and started the school team here in Irvington, of which he was Captain. An excellent driver, he mastered the art of motorcycling, hand co-ordination again and yes, very much anticipation of other people’s movements.

A National Merit scholar, he went to Drexel as an honors student in international business and Mandarin. He then transferred to NYU to study the literature of Japan, Korea and China, business studies and Mandarin – in both its spoken and written form. If there is a definition of mastering a difficulty, character writing with a fountain pen is it.
A working knowledge of French, and Italian for his Nonna’s benefit, in English he would devour each J K Rowling work in a straight read and his favorite author was J.R.R. Tolkien.

He reminded me of both my father and my brother, a truly international child and young man.

Incredibly generous and incredibly sensitive – a true Pilgrim of the United States.

Thank you Andrew and thank you all for being in our lives. I will continue to learn from you and each of my four children.

9 thoughts on “Andrew by his father

  1. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  2. I have just heard the news from a mutual and old friend of Hugh’s from our days with THF and my days at Grosvenor House Hotel, London. Having lost a most wonderful brother a little while ago I can only imagine the pain caused by Andrew’s passing to all who knew. It sounds that he was a most accomplished and lovable young man. May he rest in peace and may his loved ones find some comfort in having known him. As a dear friend told me during times of intense grief that “God only lent him to us” for which we must always be thankful. My thoughts are with you.
    Rose xx

  3. I have just heard the news from a mutual and old friend of Hugh’s from our days with THF and my days at Grosvenor House Hotel, London. Having lost a most wonderful brother a little while ago I can only imagine the pain caused by Andrew’s passing to all who knew. It sounds that he was a most accomplished and lovable young man. May he rest in peace and may his loved ones find some comfort in having known him. As a dear friend told me during times of intense grief that “God only lent him to us” for which we must always be thankful. My thoughts are with you.
    Rose xx

    • Than you Rose. I will pass your message on to Hugh. I am touched that you took the time to get in touch and offer words of solace. God Bless you, Esmeralda

Leave a Reply

