Forever Invictus – Why The Name Change

I have changed the name of the blog from Living Abraham Hicks to: Forever Invictus.
Those of you who have been following me from the beginning, know that the purpose of this blog was to document the study and application of the Law of Attraction to my daily life. The how and why are explained in the first few entries.
But for my new readers, to help explain what I had wanted to achieve for myself, I have borrowed the last two lines of William Ernest Henley’s poem:
Invictus

“… I am the master of my fate: I am the captain of my soul.”

That is still my goal, my life’s work. I had hoped that in time, I would have been able show by example to my family and friends, that it is indeed not only possible, but our God-given right to live a joyous life. That, though, as with everything else in life, requires commitment, and even before commitment, it requires our understanding of who we really are.
My son’s death by suicide in the pre-dawn hours of November 3rd 2009, left my family heartbroken. Barely able to inhale and exhale from the crippling pain.
New though I am to the subject of suicide, I have quickly learned that Andrew’s such death, is by no means one of only a few. On the contrary, the number of people who take their own lives, is huge.
Andrew’s death has forcibly driven home to my activist and spiritual nature, the urgent need for a new and open dialogue on the subject of suicide.
As we seek to understand, an essential question should be added to the many we are asking already:
“WHO ARE WE?”
Without knowing the answer to that fundamental question, all the solutions that we come up with are but stopgaps, in my opinion.

I offer the following quotes in hope that they will further explain my thoughts.

The Bhagavad-Gita 2:19–25

“… As a man abandons his worn-out clothes and acquires new ones, so when the body is worn out a new one is acquired by the Self, who lives within. The Self cannot be pierced with weapons or burned with fire; water cannot wet it, nor can the wind dry it. The Self cannot be pierced or burned, made wet or dry. It is everlasting and infinite, standing on the motionless foundation of eternity. The Self is unmanifested, beyond all thought, beyond all change…”

Paramahansa Yogananda

“… when the mind is strong and the heart is pure, we are free. It is the mind that connects you with pain in the body…”

Free (dom) – From The Law of Attraction – Abraham-Hicks

“…It’s wanting so much to be who I am that I find a way to be who I am no matter what. And I don’t demand conditions to change — I don’t demand things that I can’t change to change….Can you feel how that has always been the ultimate bondage? Where I’ve needed something that I can’t change to change in order to feel good…. And when you finally give that up and you do the only thing that you can do something about — which is choose the thought that gives you relief — now you are forever free.

And finally from me to my son;
I love you Andrew
Mummy
xoxox

3 thoughts on “Forever Invictus – Why The Name Change

    • Dave, thank you for going into details about the validity of the claims that “expert” make about suicide contagion. Where is the evidence?
      There is some talking to be done, some questions to ask and suggestions to be made.
      Esmeralda

Leave a Reply

