Wrapping Up


Walking away from Sen. Gillibrand’s office, the four of us felt that our day had gone well; now we were eager to find out how it had gone for the rest of our “Congregation.”
It was three o’clock, if we hurried, we could still make the rendezvous in room 201 deep inside The Capitol’s, new, four-storey underground visitors’ center.

“And here comes New York,” John Madigan, microphone in hand, greeted us as we walked into the room waving our folders in the air.
“How did it go?” he asked.
“Where is the food?” I wanted to know.

Soon we were on our way, all of us having trains or planes to catch, but from the debrief, it seemed that between us all, we had been able to positively influence our Lawmakers.

Time to go - Tuesday, March 9, 2010

Of course, as they say in England, the proof of the pudding is in the eating, and actions, more than words will tell us how well we did.
But for now we had given it our best shot, we had put our hearts and souls into every step we walked, every word we spoke, every hand we shook and every smile we smiled.
With my Andrew, my Fallen Knight helping me aim and shoot every peaceful arrow in my quiver, I had done all in my power, for now, to put suicide on notice: Your Days Are Numbered!

Dashing back to the hotel to get our luggage, Elizabeth and I only made our train because it was running late. On the ride back to New York, mentally and physically exhausted, I turned toward the dark train window aching, longing for Andrew. Speeding through Philadelphia I looked for the Drexel sign that had greeted me on the way to Washington on Sunday. In the darkness now, I couldn’t see it. Sadness washed over me and I cried.
That’s when Vintage Elizabeth came to the fore and in her inimitable way, managed to make me laugh like no one else can. And soon we were home, showered and in bed!

Esmeralda

PS I have already heard back from Congresswoman Nita Lowey’s office:

Mrs. Williamson-Noble,

I wanted to follow up on the meeting you had with Emily Riff and Congresswoman Lowey. As Emily may have explained, because the congresswoman is on the committee, she does not sign dear colleague letters addressed to it. However, I wanted to make sure that you knew that she would be supporting the Garrett Lee Smith Memorial Act programs in her request letter to the committee.

Chris Bigelow
Legislative Director
Rep. Nita Lowey

And from Deidra Bennett:

Esmeralda,

It was such a pleasure meeting you last week. Most of us are not blessed to say that we’ve had a mother like you in our lives, even for 5 minutes. Your son is so lucky to have had you as a mother. Always remember that. You have such a warm spirit and I’m just thankful I was able to meet you.

Thank you for the information you sent me as well. We must keep in touch.

Also,

Thank you for sending the photo!

DEIDRA-
_____________________________
Deidra Marie Bennett
Health Legislative Assistant
Senator Kirsten E. Gillibrand (NY)
478 Russell Senate Office Building

And finally, Drexel is the Philadelphia College that Andrew attended before transferring to NYU in January 2009.

10 thoughts on “Wrapping Up

  1. Esmeralda – For now, I just want to say thank you on behalf of myself and all of us who have been touched by suicide. And as you know, there are so many more of us – touched directly or one or two steps removed – than most people realize. So thank you, and everyone who took part in the legislative initiative, for all your hard work, dedication, effectiveness and determination.

    Related: Like many of us, I’m sure, I’ve been reading and thinking about the horrifying and tragic Cornell news – 6 deaths by suicide in 6 months. Six deaths of wonderful young men w/great futures ahead for them, cut short. And I’ve thought (completely selfishly, I know) that this national news (page 1 NY Times and every other major national media) will serve as a vivid punctuation mark to all the legislators your group just met with. I wish there were no news like this, but if there’s any “positive” after-effect … Well, you know. Carla xox

    • I do know what you mean. Yet, it is difficult to get media coverage.
      Take care Carla, we’ll get there, you’ll see. xoxox

  2. I’ve been surfing blogs, online news articles, and comments to them and have lost the path that led me to this well-researched and well-written piece. I believe it is worth posting here too. Now I want to know how easy and how quick it was for my son to purchase the gun he used. Until reading this I knew about but hadn’t realized how many lives could be saved by putting barriers in the way of individuals fixated on a particular way of ending their lives giving them time for the darkness to lift or be lifted by someone in their support network.

    Here’s the site:
    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/07/06/magazine/06suicide-t.html?pagewanted=1&ei=5124&en=03acbdb267411a0b&ex=1373169600&partner=permalink&exprod=permalink

    • Hi there, I read that article 3 days ago. Someone told me about it. It reinforces what I already knew. Had my son not being able to get to the 10th floor of the Bobst library, my son would still be here. Where were those M. F. ? How was he able to get up there unchallenged? I am typing this but screaming it at the same. And I am so loud in my screams that I could break walls just with the reverberations!!!!!!!

      • Ah Esmeralda, I am a step behind you ;).

        And sorry to have incited such a visceral response. But you must scream. You must be you. That is what makes you capable of wielding the weapons you will use to accomplish your mission as it evolves as a peaceful warrior.

        I told you about researching for my sons’s speech on survivors of suicide. That and the opportunity of some vacation days have led me to time reading and researching the net. I came to this website (thereasons.com) from a Facebook AFSP wall post. The address takes the reader to 2 survivor stories. One story is about men’s grief and the other is about how a mother turned her private grief into public action.

        http://www.thereasons.ca/stories_loss.php
        Aloha~

  3. I believe that my son falls into the impulsive act category so this article was very helpful in confirming that. It is so interesting to find technological footprints that we have provided to us by warrant of cell phones and internet activity. Anger, broken hearted, misery by a girl and last phone call (20 minutes in length and last communication) as well as a how to site on the internet: how to tie a slip knot, a noose….

    • Maybe my son too.
      By the way, I didn’t know that there are “How to” sites. We need to ask for legislation that bans them.

Leave a Reply

