Lord Hear Our Prayer

"The Empire State Building"

Empire State Building

I cannot quite go back to where I was before I learned of Cameron Dabaghi’s death.
The similarities between that boy and my son… both East Asian Studies Majors in their junior year, both clearly smart, bright boys. Both of them jumped!
Andrew from the 10th floor of Bobst, and Cameron from the 86th floor of the Empire State Building.

What was going through their minds?

I pray that by some miracle – I do believe in them – I pray that Cameron’s body wasn’t too visibly injured.
I pray that his parents, siblings, family and friends were able to see their son, brother and friend, one more time, and that even in death he looked as the boy they knew and loved.

Lord hear our prayer!
OM

3 thoughts on “Lord Hear Our Prayer

  1. “Dear Esmeralda, I noticed the similarities, too, and was hoping you were doing
    yoga on a beach in Fiji — far away from “the internets”. But I know that you
    are strong and grounded. Am really thinking that a trampoline for “test drives”
    should be available to college students.”

    Chris

  2. Dear Esmeralda,

    I deeply admire your strength to speak out against student suicide and my apologies for your loss. I am a reporter for the Washington Square News and we’re actually writing an article concerning the glass panels at Bobst which were erected to prevent students from committing such acts. I was wondering if you had any opinions on the matter. My deadline is quickly approaching, but I would love to hear anything you had to say on the matter as soon as possible.

    Again, my sincerest apologies for your loss. Despite not knowing your son, this tragedy has truly affected me as well as other NYU students.

    Best,
    Prerana
    pswami@nyunews.com

Leave a Reply

