Robert Is Home Today

It was Mother’s Day yesterday.
Other than on the morning when Andrew died, Robert cried for the first time last night.
I was almost asleep when I suddenly sensed his presence. Looking up, I saw him standing by my bed.
“I can’t sleep,” he said.
“Get in,” I said, lifting the blanket and moving toward the center of the bed to make room for him.
With my arms around him and his face resting on my shoulder, I realized that he was crying, sobbing quietly.
“What’s the matter darling?”
“I miss Andrew,” he said, his face wet with tears.

Robert is home today, resting and grieving. I can’t write today, I’ll see you tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Robert Is Home Today

  1. This is so heartbreaking but I’m glad he is letting it out so the light can come in when the darkness leaves.

    Prabuddh

Leave a Reply

