World Cup

The Soccer World Cup started a few days ago!
I have so many memories of Andrew, Robert and Hugh sitting in the family room watching the games.
I would listen to their commentary and smile while I pottered around in the kitchen.
The children would often ask out loud what to do in the event of Italy and England playing against each other.
For those of you who don’t know, I am Italian and my husband is English.
Everybody agreed that we would be happy if either England or Italy or the US won the World Cup, but the question of England and Italy playing each other was never easily answered, even by me.

I think it was the 2002 World Cup final when Italy played and lost against Brazil. The goal that lost Italy the World Cup was scored by Rinaldo, a Brazilian player who had been playing for an Italian club for years.
The Italians were so mad at him that they did not renew his contract.
I remember walking in the park with a Czech friend of ours, talking and laughing about the whole thing.
Andrew in particular was so amused by the Italians’ outrageous behaviour.

Yesterday Italy played and tied against Paraguay. I watched a bit of it with Robert, but the few inches of empty space on the sofa felt as huge as the Grand Canyon.

Keith's sister & my beloved friend - December 13, 2009 - Andrew's Memorial Concert

Keith's sister and my beloved friend - December 13, 2009 - Andrew's Memorial Concert

Keith Alexander, the brother of one of my oldest and dearest friends, a veritable Fairy Godmother to Andrew, died of an aneurysm in March. Keith was one of England’s best soccer players until an injury put an end to his playing career and he became a soccer coach and then a Manager.
I like to think that Andrew is watching the World Cup with Keith, and enjoying Keith’s knowledgeable commentary.

But us over here, we miss your commentary darling Andrew.

IF YOU ARE FEELING SUICIDAL OR NEED TO TALK CALL THE NATIONAL LIFELINE
1-800-273-8255

Leave a Reply

