Stand By Me

"Amma Giving Darshan"

Amma Giving Darshan

Amma’s three-day program in New York ended yesterday.
For anyone wanting to know more about Amma, please go to:
Amma.org or embracingtheworld.org

As many of you know, Amma is my teacher. It is thanks to her teaching of love that I am inspired to look for something positive in everything. That I am inspired to learn from everything that surrounds me, Nature, People, and Life in its many forms.

During the last day of the program I had another “opportunity” to cry, and that was during an acupuncture session with Dr. Weng, a Chinese acupuncturist of formidable qualities and abilities.

I had been lying down on one of the treatment tables for a few moments, when Dr. Weng came.
Without saying anything she took my arm and listened to my pulse, then she placed a series of acupuncture needles on my face, my lower arms and my feet. Whatever the needles did, it started long before she’d inserted the last one. The horror and disbelief of the violence of Andrew’s death was stored in my body, and now was erupting, like earthquake rumbles shaking my whole being.

For a moment I felt like when Andrew was born.

By the time I got onto the delivery table and the medical team had assembled around me, it was too late to give me anything but laughing gas; Andrew was exiting my womb.
I didn’t have to push, a force out of my control shoved the baby out of me and a roar out of my throat.

Andrew was born.

On the treatment table, roar by painful roar I quieted down and slipped into a slumber. I don’t know how much time had passed when Dr. Weng’s assistant came and removed the needles. Dreamily I left the treatment room and lay down on an empty row of chairs on the upper balcony (at the Manhattan Center), while Amma gave Darshan throughout the night.

While I lay there, neither sad nor happy, the opening notes of Ben King’s song: Stand By Me, filled the hall.

The music and the lyrics resonated like a prayer in my being and when the song was over, I slipped into a quiet slumber once again.

Stand by me has always been my prayer in times of trouble and pain. Stand by me is what I say to Andrew since he left this physical life.

Here are the lyrics of the song

STAND BY ME

When the night has come
And the land is dark
And the moon is the only light we’ll see
No I won’t be afraid, no I won’t be afraid
Just as long as you stand, stand by me

And darlin’, darlin’, stand by me, oh now now stand by me
Stand by me, stand by me

If the sky that we look upon
Should tumble and fall
And the mountains should crumble to the sea
I won’t cry, I won’t cry, no I won’t shed a tear
Just as long as you stand, stand by me

And darlin’, darlin’, stand by me, oh stand by me
Stand by me, stand by me, stand by me-e, yeah

Whenever you’re in trouble won’t you stand by me, oh now now stand by me
Oh stand by me, stand by me, stand by me

Darlin’, darlin’, stand by me-e, stand by me
Oh stand by me, stand by me, stand by me

Love to everyone,
Esmeralda

IF YOU ARE FEELING SUICIDAL OR NEED TO TALK CALL THE NATIONAL LIFELINE
1-800-273-8255

One thought on “Stand By Me

Leave a Reply

