Tomatoes Calling (for my attention)

"tomatoes"

Tomatoes - Image courtesy of google images

I have so much to do.

Yesterday, jet lagged – not thinking straight – I went to a local farm and bought 25 lb of tomatoes.
“I am going to make tomato sauce and freeze it,” I thought. “It won’t take long.”
I also bought a couple of small baskets of ripe peppers and zucchine.
” I’ll cook them and use some to make a frittata or a topping for couscous and freeze the rest.”

It doesn’t sound like much work does it?

But for one thing I don’t have a big enough pan to cook all the tomatoes at once, so I will have to make it in batches, and for another, I underestimated how long it takes to hand puree the sauce with my small food mill.
The batch I made last night was delicious, but it didn’t even make a dent on the big box of tomatoes sitting on the kitchen counter.

The peppers and the zucchine, also need to be cooked today, because they are really ripe (on the cusp).

That’s that on the kitchen front.

But having been gone a month, I have a lot of catching up to do, AND, guess what’s happening on September 18, less than three weeks from now… The Fair!

Yes; Get Your Wellness On – Suicide Awareness & Prevention Fair is coming to Manhattan’s Washington Square Park!
And do you know something REALLY amazing?
Some of you are coming all the way from Hawaii, Seattle, Orange County CA and Washington to help and be at the Fair. Can you imagine? Can you really imagine? I am humbled!

You know, I just thought of something, maybe I can use some of the tomato sauce for when they are here, what do you think?

By the way, Andrew used to dip his bread in my tomato sauce. Oh Tigger, I never stop thinking about you!

So, I was going to tell you about my short stay in London, but with the tomatoes and everything else waiting for me, if you don’t mind, I will tell you about it later.

Bye for now,
Esmeralda

One thought on “Tomatoes Calling (for my attention)

  1. This is a wonderful post and may be one that needs to be followed up to see what are the results

    A good friend mailed this link the other day and I will be eagerly looking your next page. Keep on on the the best work.

Leave a Reply

