A Message From Andrew Via Christopher Robin

This Morning I received an email from the mother of an NYU student, excerpts are below.

“… Dearest Esmeralda,

I have followed your blog for the last 11 months now, and though I could never possibly feel your pain, I have shed many tears for you…

“… The morning of Andrew’s death, I received a chilling text from my daughter while she was in class. “”Someone died by suicide today Mother. He jumped from the 10th floor in the Library…”

“… I think when Andrew died, the impact it made on her was nearly as devastating as it was to his close friends. Moreover she was furious with how NYU handled Andrew’s death, by sweeping it under the carpet as to avoid “bad publicity.”

“… I will leave you with one of my favorite quotes, as we too, are big fans of Pooh and Tigger…”
she writes…

And the quote that follows went straight to my heart, and has caused me to shed uncontrollable tears.
For, you see, I know that that quote is a message from Andrew aka Tigger.

Andrew with Bruno his own Winnie the Pooh

Andrew with Bruno his own Winnie the Pooh


"Christopher robin and winnie the pooh"

“Promise me you’ll always remember,” Christopher Robin tells his best friend Pooh. “You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.”

After reading that, I went and found Andrew’s copy of Christopher Robin’s: “The House At Pooh Corner”

“So they went off together,” the last page of the book begins. “But wherever they go, and whatever happens to them on the way, in that enchanted place on the top of the Forest, a little boy and his Bear will always be playing.”

"Andrew & Bruno by Peter Sis"

Andrew & Bruno by Peter Sis

“Pooh, promise you won’t forget about me, ever. Not even when I’m a hundred.”

Still with his eyes to the world Christopher Robin put a hand and felt for Pooh’s paw.
“Pooh,” said Christopher Robin earnestly, “if I – If I am not quite—” he stopped and tried again–
“Pooh, whatever happens, you will understand, won’t you?

Eleven year-old Andrew & Bruno - Sydney - Australia, July 2000

Eleven year-old Andrew & Bruno - Sydney - Australia, July 2000

Dear friend, if you are reading this, please don’t feel bad that I am crying, for the memories of those days are sweet.

As for you, my very own Christopher Robin: Even if I live to be a hundred, I’ll never forget you. Even if I live to be two hundred I’ll never forget you. And please don’t worry my love, I am working on being brave.
All my love
Mummy

8 thoughts on “A Message From Andrew Via Christopher Robin

  1. Thank you, Esmeralda. Thank you NYU mother. I think you might forget (Esmeralda) how your words touch so many lives. I too read Esmeralda’s blog everyday. But, I don’t say much. I could not stop myself this time. That post is so deeply moving in its shared emotion and simplicity. Esmeralda, you are indeed braver, stronger and smarter in the many ways you have helped all of us who grieve with you.

  2. Dearest friend,

    I am crying with you. I too believe this is a message from Andrew. You see, the quote was not an after thought. It came first. I stumbled upon it, and moments later found myself writing to you. I had forgotten the remaining dialogue between Christopher and Pooh. It makes perfect sense now.
    Thank you Andrew, for trusting me with your message.

    Much Love to you Esmeralda

    • Thank you for being open, listening and willing to follow through. Andrew communicates with me often through people, and I am always open and listening too.
      Thank you Lenette. i will be in touch with your daughter in a few days, right now I need to rest. Love, Esmeralda

  3. and I guess we are still trying to understand but never forgetting.

    I never thought of Winnie the Pooh books being beautiful, or a source of anything other than fond memories of childhood but Tigs comes through in this. So brave, so smart but perhaps not quite strong enough for a few short hours. Love you Tigs … and all of you.
    x

  4. Thank you Esme for sharing this with me earlier today… You know, there is never a day that goes by without Andrew coming to my mind. He was as beautiful as he was brilliant and his light shines on… in you, his siblings and Hugh. Stay Blessed!♥
    Eliz

    • It is of great comfort to me that there are people like you, who knew and loved Andrew. That there are people who’ll never forget him.
      Thank for loving him and for making him laugh the happiest laugh every time you came around when he was alive. xox Esme

Leave a Reply

