Get Your Wellness On, The Blog, Is Finally Here

"Get Your Wellness On - NYC - Washington Square Park" - September 18, 2010

Get Your Wellness On - NYC - Washington Square Park - September 18, 2010

Are you ready to get Your Wellness On? Then come and visit our new blog.

Together we will explore the meaning of all encompassing Wellness.

But what is Wellness? Certainly Wellness will likely mean different things, to different people.

I have come to my understanding of Wellness the same way each of us comes to understanding anything, through my own life experiences.

There are times, when what shows up along our path of this thing we call
Life’s Journey, that forces us to change from mere actors in a play (the play of life) to… producers. Not merely reading the lines given us, but engaging in the production of the play that is our life.

Looking at my life, I could be tempted to think that too many mountains have shown up along my path, and each time, scaling the mountain was the only option available to me, if I wanted to move forward, that is.

And yes, every time I told myself “ Oh sheet, do I really have to? This sucks.”
And guess what, even though I have somehow, and I don’t even know how, scaled a few mountains, when I look back I think “ Sheet, that really sucked.”

But pain doesn’t have to be without gain. And I am happy to report that I have picked up a few useful “tips” along the way.

The fact that I am still, not only alive, but in a way I am also thriving, is an encouraging sign, not only for myself, but for anyone who might otherwise be tempted to give up at times of extreme adversity.

So, to go back to my initial question: What is Wellness?

For me Wellness is EVERYTHING!
That is, the integrated wellness of every aspect of our being: Spiritual, Mental, Emotional, and Physical.

And when we have that, our Wellness, let’s even call it Happiness, is in our own hands. When we have that, we are no longer dependent on the rest of the world for our happiness. We are no longer dependent on those around us to behave in a way that makes us happy. Because the truth is that no one can behave in the way we want them to behave forever. And the other thing is that they shouldn’t be expected to either.
Our thing is not theirs and theirs is not ours.
In any case, how can we be in control of others when we are not even in control of ourselves?

Personally I believe that Self Awareness is the answer to Self Empowerment, and our commitment to our Wellness must be to develop the tools that will lead us to the Awareness of our Self.

In the days, weeks, months and years ahead, I will share my personal understanding of what might help us on the road to Self Awareness.
We will go to others and ask them to share with us their view, their understanding and recipe for Wellness.

And I look forward to hearing from you, with your questions, suggestions and life stories.

So, Go “Get Your Wellness On”

Om Shanti, Shanti, Shanti

Esmeralda Williamson-Noble
Founder
Get Your Wellness On

Leave a Reply

