From Susan

The following is from Susan, a fellow suicide survivor, sister in-grief and friend.
Thank you Susan for everything.
All my love
Esmeralda

There are no answers to reasons why.
Why some are pruned to the stalk, while others are barely tweezed.
There’s no measurement to the pain only the wisdom gained.
I was told by a sage once that this was Grace.
Watching the grilling of our state’s head in blue has given me pause.
No matter what party you belong to the need is great and dire.
There will be more on the street who are ill and their illness is our illness.
My life is full, I have more than I need in comparison to most I pass.
Although I have had opportunity to be pruned beyond all measure my limbs
Are growing back. Even though the arms that ache will no longer hold what was
They eagerly embrace what will be. There are many I speak to now who are in the
Throes of these yawning spaces. You will walk through this fire as I have and
The many before me. You are not alone and with the wisdom gained you will
Know to ask for help when needed. That gift alone provides for the whole and
Not the isolated wound. Love and care for those that struggle as we are all
God’s children and the struggle is human and makes us the meek who inherit
Great things.
I wish Peace and love to you who have given me grace.
Love,
Susan

One thought on “From Susan

  1. So beautiful Susan. I’m glad I can picture you as I read this. So many beautifully rendered thoughts and images within the whole piece which as a whole also conveys much. Some of the parts of the whole that stood out to me:
    “…their illness is our illness.”
    “Although I have had opportunity to be pruned beyond all measure my limbs
    Are growing back. Even though the arms that ache will no longer hold what was
    They eagerly embrace what will be.”
    I haven’t gotten to the point of being eager to embrace what will be. I don’t think I ever will. I always pray for strength to be able to cope with whatever undesired, unknown, and unanticipated evil, trial, or darkness looms in my future. I never imagined suicide would lie in my path! What other unimaginable experiences dwell in my future journey?! It can scare me to death!

    Oh, boo…sorry for getting negative. I love your hopeful piece / peace.
    Peace, love and hugs Susan. ~Rayo

Leave a Reply

