Da Roma Con Amore – From Rome With Love

I am in Rome.

Everytime time I come back to Rome I am reminded, again, of how beautiful the Eternal City is.
Of course it’s appeal is now enhanced because my daughter is here.
And can you believe it? I left a cold and wet Sicily to find that Spring had already sprung in Rome!

On Saturday we walked from Florentina’s apartment to the Pyramid by the Museo Ostiense where we jumped on a bus to the Mercato Cosimato (I think that’s the name). I love Italian markets, the array of fresh, seasonal, local produce glistening in the sun… We bought a Roman broccolo (cauliflower – quickly boiled and drizzled with a good olive oil and a sprinkling of salt and pepper…. YUM!) a tender bunch of Rucola, a bag of Puntarelle (never had them before, but you eat them raw with a dressing of anchovies, olive oil, balsamic vinegar and pepper, Divine!), fennel so fresh and tender… we made it into a salad with sweet and juicy tarocchi oranges. And what else… Oh, gorgeous bread of course.

Indeed, it was simple but delizioso (delicious) food.

With our goodies from the land, we walked on, crossed the Tiber into Trastevere and on to Campo Dei Fiori, another market, known all over the world.
I could have spent the whole day there, admiring every single salad leaf, artichoke, sprig of parsley and celery stalk.
Not to mention the array of cheeses, pastas, sun-dried tomatoes, caponatas, peperonatas, sweet, juicy cachi (persimmons), oranges and mandarins still with their bright green leaves on their stalks, all so soothing and nourishing for the soul and the senses.

Lunch was at a Mozzarella Bar on Campo dei Fiori- Oh! There is mozzarella and then there is Mozzarella! Florentina had Stracciatella, which is the soft sweet heart of the mozzarella. The stream of Oh, oh, oh that I uttered when I tried it… Well….
I had another type…. oh shoot, I can’t remember the name right now, but when I took the first byte of the soft, warm, slightly salty delicacy… I launched into another unchecked series of Ohs… the simple basil and organic olive oil pesto that accompanied the grilled vegetables was another reason to rejoice and dive into the plate; as for the bread… Let’s say that it stood up to the rest.

I have to go now and tomorrow morning I fly back to New York but I will tell you more about my Roman Holiday.

Bye for now.
Love

Esmeralda

Leave a Reply

