An Antidepressant Called: Walking

Washington DC - March 2010 - Walking my feet off on "Capitol Hil"l

Washington DC - March 2010 - Walking my feet off on Capitol Hill

Maybe you all know this already, but my therapist told me that a thirty minute walk five days a week, is equivalent to taking Zoloft, an antidepressant.

It takes thirty days of trumping up and down your park or wherever you take your walk, before it kicks in, but after that you are “on.” Mind you, it stops when you stop walking.

For those of you who prefer jogging, running or swimming, that’s fine too, basically anything that’s aerobic.

I have been doing my best to get myself out there and walk. And you know, once I am moving those feet and I feel the fresh air on my face, the heaviness begins to lift, the cobwebs on my brain fly away and I feel rejuvenated.

Getting out there though is where I trip, but I managed it three times this week.

If anyone out there wants to come with me for a walk let me know.

Esmeralda

4 thoughts on “An Antidepressant Called: Walking

  1. Your therapist is right. I have always done a lot of walking (and running). It is extremely therapeutic.

    The problem is when you are down, depressed, etc., the last thing you want to do is move. Most of us just want to “veg out” on the couch or suck our thumb and feel sorry for ourselves. BUT, if we can just give ourselves that little push to go out the door, breath the fresh air and go on a little tour of the neighborhood, miracles can happen. You never know who you’ll meet, what you’ll see or where you might end up. I used to go for an hour. I would time myself. 30 minutes going away from home, then turn around and 30 minutes back by a different route. Thanks for the post.
    …/John
    http://johnarcher11.wordpress.com/

  2. You already know I’m a walker 🙂 Was a runner at one time and would love to gradually find the runner in me again. There’s a lovely book you might want to know about called “Chi Walking”. Look it up on line…a class or DVD would be more practical than reading the book.

    When in NYC last Sept for GYWO, my brother and I walked to and from the train station and went for walks around and about Washington Square Park…Walking for wellness I believe literally has saved my life…

    I am happy to read about your walking and and finding a helpful therapist
    and how both are helping you continue to heal…
    Aloha…

Leave a Reply

