Andrew’s Shoes

Andrew & Robert a few years ago - "Andrew is wearing gym shoes"

Andrew & Robert a few years ago - Andrew is wearing gym shoes

I feel so sad today. Tears are streaming down my face.

Out of the blue I thought about a pair of Andrew’s moccasins, and I immediately felt sad.

Then I thought about all his other shoes, summer sandals, flip-flops, black evening shoes, fencing shoes, walking shoes…

All those footless shoes.

I used to massage his feet.

I used to play with his little feet when he was a young child:

“This little piggy went to market, this little stayed at home, this little piggy had roast beef, this little piggy had none… and this little piggy cried… wee, wee, wee all the way home.” Squeals of laughter as I tickled him all the way under his chin.

Oh Andrew my love…. When, when, when

4 thoughts on “Andrew’s Shoes

Leave a Reply

